Senate Confirms Appointment Of New NDDC Board

Sequel to a memo written to the Senate by President Goodluck Jonathan requesting the Senate to confirm nominees into the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), the Senate on Wednesday confirmed the nomination of the nominees in accordance with the provisions of Section 5(3) of the NDDC Act.

The President had earlier dissolved the Governing Board of the NDDC on September 13, 2011 after which members who would reconstitute the Board were nominated.

The approved nominees are Dr. Tarilah Tebepah, Chairman; Edward Orubo, member, Christian A. Obo, Managing Director; Dr. Ibiamuno M. Aminigo, member; Solomon Ogba, member.

L.E.J. Konboye, was nominated to serve as Executive Director.

Others include Imaobong Johnson, member; Edikan Eshett Eshett, Executive Director Projects; Peter C. Ezeobi; Dominic Aqua Edem, member; Alloysius Nwagboso, member; Omogbemi O. Oladele, member and Osahon Imaru, member.

Senator Garba Yakubu Lado was nominated to represent the Northwest, Rima Shawulu Kwewum Northeast and Senator Tunde Ogbeha North Central, being representatives from non-oil producing areas.

Senate President, David Mark sounded what seemed to be a note of warning as he disclosed that if the new Board fails to perform in six months, the same fate that befell their predecessors would be their lot.

Author: NewsAdmin

4594 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »

November 2011
« Oct   Dec »