Ekiti To Honour Africa’s Youngest Ph.D Holder, As Buhari Commissions Parapo Square

Africa’s youngest Ph.D holder, Hallowed Oluwadara Olaoluwa, is among 29 Ekiti indigenes who would be honoured with the state’s merit award in the 2014 edition of the annual event billed for Ado-Ekiti on Wednesday, October 1, 2014.
The Ekiti State-born Dr. Olaoluwa stormed the academic world earlier in the year when he bagged his Ph.D in Mathematics from the University of Lagos at the age of 24.
He is considered the youngest ever in the continent. He will be receiving the award in the academic and research category.
According to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Olayinka Oyebode, this year’s merit award would hold at the Ekiti Parapo Square which will be commissioned same day.
The 12,000-seater square, described as one of the legacy projects of the Fayemi administration, would be commissioned by former Head of State, General Muhammadu Buhari, supported by other eminent Nigerians.
Other distinguished Ekitis to be honoured include the first Nigerian Professor of Mathematics, the late Prof Adegoke Olubunmo and foremost historian, the late Emeritus Professor Jacob Ade-Ajayi, who would be awarded post humously.
Elemure Ogunyemi, a chief, who recently passed on would also receive a post humous award.
Also on the list are Elizabeth Adegbite, a former President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN); ace musician, Yinka Ayefele; Emily Olaboye , a respected mat weaver and Jude Michael Osagwu, who won the Best Teacher in Nigeria Award in 2013.
The State Commissioner for Special Duties, Apalara Wole-Adewunmi, who is chairman of the planning committee, said the award is to recognise excellence among citizens and residents of the state who have distinguished themselves in different ways.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »

September 2014
« Aug   Oct »