2015: Akala Moves To Strike Deal With Ibadan Guber Aspirants

Former governor of Oyo state, Chief Adebayo Alao Akala is leaving no stone unturned in his quest to return to the seat of government in the state as he turns to co-contestant in the race for the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ticket for succor.
Reports emanating from the Ogbomosho born politician indicate that Akala has been appealing to governorship aspirants from Ibadan zones in PDP to step down for him, promising mouthwatering offer for each of them should they agree.
PDP logo

Against this background, Akala has scheduled a meeting with the governorship aspirants of Ibadan origin today at the residence of a prominent politician, Chief Kola Balogun where he hoped to seal a deal with them.
The former governor of Oyo state is said to be worried about the large number of Ibadan aspirants in the governorship race, most of them strong enough to give him a good fight, a reason he is said to have recourse to the deft move of arranging a deal with the aspirants as a bunch.
More of the aspirants for the PDP’s governorship ticket in Oyo State are from Ibadan, the most prominent being Senator Teslim Folarin, Professor Taoheed Adedoja, Seyi Makinde, Chief Soji Adejumo, Akeem Gbolarumi, Kehinde Olaosebikan, Femi Babalola (Joggor), Dr Adetunji and others.
Reports said the former governor of Oyo State did not extend his hands of fellowship to Senator Folarin owing to critical political issues which are said to be militating against their possible reconciliation.
There are reports also that most of the governorship aspirants from Ibadan had met and resolved never to trade-off their chances to Akala on the basis that since he had ruled Ibadan for years as Deputy Governor and later as a substantive governor and a candidate from Ogbomoso, Ibadan should be left this time to produce the next governor of the state.
There has been an age long rivalry for the control of the seat of government of Oyo state by Ibadan and other divisions, mostly Ibarapa, Oke-Ogun and Ogbomoso, while Ibadan has always been laying claims to the seat being the largest among all.
Chief Omololu Olunloyo, Chief Kolapo Ishola, Chief Lam Adesina are among prominent politicians of Ibadan origin who had ruled the state from the Second Republic till date

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »