2015: Alao-Akala, Folarin, Others Fail To Agree On Consensus

Ex-Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala and other governorship aspirants in the Peoples Democratic Party, Oyo State chapter have failed to agree on a consensus candidate that will fly the party’s flag in 2015.
The aspirants met in Abuja on Tuesday and Wednesday nights, with the hope of arriving at a conclusion on who should be the standard bearer of the party during the election.
The two meetings, which were initiated by the Presidency, were chaired by the Senate President, Sen. David Mark.
Those in attendance were Alao-Akala; a former Senate Leader, Sen. Teslim Folarin; Soji Adejumo, Seyi. Makinde and a former local government chairman in the state, Chief Wole Oyelese.
None of the aspirants agreed to step down for the other.
However, sources at the meeting said that both Oyelese and Adejumo informed Mark that there were five other governorship aspirants left out of the meeting.
Their position was said to have been countered by Makinde who reportedly told the meeting that at least 80 per cent of the serious contenders were present.
Among those listed as being left out were Kehinde Olaosebikan, Femi Babalola, Bola Adetunji and Owolabi Babalola.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »