Fayose Takes Over As Six Ekiti APC Lawmakers Defect To PDP

Six members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the Ekiti House of Assembly defected to the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Thursday just as the governor, Kayode Fayemi was leaving office.
They are Adeojo Ayodele (Ekiti South West II Constituency), Olowo Ajiboye (Oye II), Adeloye Adeyinka (Ikole I), Abeni Olayinka (Ado II), Fatunba Olajide (Moba II), and Olugbemi Joseph (Ikole II).
Until now, the APC had 25 of 26 members in the House while PDP had only one.
Mr. Fayemi, who is also a member of the APC, left office following the expiration of his four-year tenure.
The defection of the lawmakers, who were called to the podium, was announced as the new governor, Ayo Fayose was being sworn in.
In his inaugural speech, the new governor said the APC was dead and buried in Ekiti State.
Mr. Fayose governed the state between 2003 and 2006 on the platform of the PDP, which then dominated the House of Assembly.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »