PDP Guber Primaries: Jimi Agbaje Floors Obanikoro In Lagos, Maku Loses In Nasarawa, Gemade Wins Under APC

Peoples Democratic Party new entrant, Jimi Agbaje has defeated former minister of state for Defense, Musiliu Obanikoro at the the party’s governorship primary election held on Monday in Lagos. Mr. Agbaje scored 434 votes against Mr. Obanikoro’s 346 votes from delegates across the state.
The immediate past Minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro however, described as a sham the governorship primary election held in the state by his party.

The former Minister who addressed his supporters and pressmen at his Ikeja office noted that the ballots should not have been counted since the number of votes cast exceeded number of accredited delegates, adding that the process of the election was compromised and predetermined. His words were tweeted via his handle, @MObanikoro
“The whole electoral exercise was a sham. We will fight it and ensure that the right thing is done
I have never seen an election where ballot papers are counted before sorting. The whole process was compromised and predetermined. As far as we are concerned, there was no election today, hence no result. No results should have been counted the moment number of votes cast exceeded number of accredited delegates,” he said.
He vowed to fight on until the necessary corrections are made while urging his supporters to be law-abiding.
“Until the necessary corrections are made, we will not rest. It is not over yet. Go home and do not take the laws into your hands. Be rest assured that we will fight this to a logical conclusion,” he added.

Yusuf Agabi defeated Labaran Maku, immediate past Information Minister, to get Nasarawa State ticket
Meanwhile, one of the founding members of the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Barnabas Gemade has picked up the senatorial primary ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) a few hours after decamping from the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP).
Gemade won the party primary of the APC for the Benue North East senatorial zone early this morning. He will now contest against incumbent governor, Gabriel Suswam during next year’s general elections.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »

December 2014
« Nov   Jan »