Elections: I-G Deploys Special Forces To Rivers; Deploys DIGs, AIGs, CPs

The Inspector-General of Police, Mr Suleiman Abba, has effected the deployment of special units to Rivers State, six DIGs, sixteen AIGs, and thirty CPs, in order to address security challenges during the April 11Governorship and state House of Assembly elections.

The deployments announced by Mr Emmanuel Ojukwu, Force Spokesman in a statement issued in Abuja and obtained on Friday, gave details of the special units as 32 Units of Police Mobile Force (PMF), four Units of Counter terrorism Units (CTU) and four Units of Special Protection Units (SPU).

The others are: six Crack Teams of Detectives from Force Criminal Investigation Department (FCID) and complements of Intelligence officers.

The I-G also ordered the deployment of six Deputy Inspectors-General of Police to coordinate police activities in the six geo-political zones. The affected DIGs are, however, not named.

Abba further deployed 16 Assistant Inspectors-General of Police for the purpose of securing the elections as follows: Usman Gwary, Abia, Olufemi Adenaike , Kwara, Joseph Mbu, Ogun, Patrick Dokumor, Kaduna, Tambari Muhammed , Jigawa, Mohammed Abubakar, Gombe, Ikemefuna Ookoye, Oyo, Tunde Ogunsakin, Rivers, Jubril Adeniji, Bauchi and Yerima Irimiya, Imo.

The others are: Adisa Bolanta, Akwa Ibom, Lawal Tanko, Lagos, Ballah Nasarawa, Benue, Musa Daura, Edo, Aderele Shinaba, Plateau and Bala Hassan, Sokoto.

Thirty Commissioners of Police were similarly deployed for election duties in the states as follows: Anambra, Sam Okaula, Ekiti, E. J. Ibine, Enugu, Adamu Mohammed and Osun, Valentine Ntomchukwu.

One Commissioner of Police was deployed to command each of the three Senatorial zones in the following states; Gombe, Bauchi, Imo, Akwa Ibom, Lagos, Benue, Edo, Plateau and Sokoto.

Author: newsadmin2

529 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »