Ogun Guber: INEC Declares Amosun Winner

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State was yesterday re-elected for a second term in office.
Amosun was declared the winner of the April 11 governorship election in the state by the Independent National Electoral Commission Returning Officer for the state, Prof. Duro Oni, having polled 306,988 votes.
With Amosun’s victory, the hopes of the people of Ogun West to produce a governor of the state for the first time has once again been dashed. The district remains the only section that had yet to produce a governor for the state since its creation over 38 years ago.
The governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Gboyega Nasir Isiaka who came second behind Amosun with 201,440 votes, hails from Imeko in the Ogun West Senatorial District of the state.
The candidate of the Social Democratic Party, Senator Akin Odunsi who is also from Ogun West came a distant third with 25,826 votes.
Declaring Amosun as the duly elected governor of the state, the INEC returning officer who is also the deputy vice chancellor of the University of Lagos, said the APC standard bearer beat the 15 other governorship candidates to emerge the overall winner of the poll.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »