The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Muhammadu Buhari has now been sworn in as the President of Nigeria.

He is the fourth to rule Nigeria in the ongoing Fourth Republic after former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo, Late Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Buhari’s presidency brings an end to the 16 years rule of the Peoples Democratic party, while he broke record as the first President to be produced from the camp of the opposition.

Buharai took the oath of office at exactly 10. 52 am after former President Goodluck Jonathan handed over to him the constitution of Nigeria signaling the formal hand over of power.

Buhari’s Deputy had earlier taken his oath of office administered by the Chief Justice of the Federation, Justice Mahmud Muhammed.

Eagles Square

The Defence flag was, however handed over to the new President at 11.03.

A moment later the Brigade of Guard hoisted the National Flag for the president, signifying that Buhari has taken over as the commander-in-chief of the Nigerian Armed Forces.

This was followed by a 21-gun salute in his honour as the new president of Nigeria.

Buhari is to inspect the Guard Parade comanded by Brigadier General Anthony Bamidele, any moment from now after which he will proceed to give his maiden address