Breaking News: Senate Screens New Service Chiefs on Thursday

Nigeria’s newly appointed Service Chiefs are to be screened by the Senate during plenary on Thursday.

Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki, announced this on the floor of the upper chamber during Wednesday’s plenary.

Saraki said that the screening would begin at 10 a.m. and urged all serving senators to be in attendance and to be punctual.

He also announced the constituting of four senate committees, namely, Senate Selection Committee, Rules and Business Committee, Ethics and Privileges Committee and ad hoc Committee on Publicity and their chairmen.

The Senate Selection Committee, which is charged with the responsibility of coordinating other committees, is to be chaired by Senator Ibrahim Gobir (APC Sokoto East). It has 18 members.

The Rules and Business Committee will be headed by Senator Babajide Omoworare (APC Osun East), while Senate Leader, Sen. Ali Ndume, will serve as his Deputy. Other Committee members include Senators Kabir Marafa (APC Zamfara Central), Barnabas Gemade (APC Benue) and five others.

The Ethics and Privileges Committee, comprising 11 members, is to be chaired by Senator Samuel Anyanwu (APC Imo east, who is to be deputised by Bala Ibn Na’Allah,
Senate Deputy Leader.

Senator Dino Melaye (APC Kogi West) is to chair the five-man Ad Hoc Committee on Publicity. Othe members include Senator Ben Bruce (APC Bayelsa East) and Sen. Eyinaya Abaribe (PDP Abia South).

Author: newsadmin2

529 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »