INEC Dismisses Two Staff Over Gov. Bello Double Registration, Registers More Parties

Two officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), have been shown the exit door from the commission.
They were said to have been dismissed for their alleged roles in the electoral scandal involving the Kogi State Governor, Yahya Bello.
The two officials were alleged to have gone to the Governor’s office to register him when he had earlier registered.
Bello is accused of double voter registration, ‎an allegation he denies.
INEC in a statement on Thursday said, “Following reports of the alleged double registration by the Governor of Kogi State in the on-going Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) exercise, the commission set up a panel of investigation into the involvement of staff in the matter.”
The electoral commission also indicated that it could not prosecuted Bello only because he enjoys constitutional immunity from prosecution.
“The initial report submitted by the panel was referred to the Appointment, Promotion and Disciplinary Committee, which made recommendations to the Commission.
“While the Governor of Kogi State currently enjoys immunity from prosecution, the Commission took the following decisions in respect of its own staff:
Summary dismissal of two staff for acts of gross misconduct
Immediate and compulsory retirement of an Electoral Officer for act of gross misconduct.”
Meanwhile, the Commission has approved the registration of 21 new political parties, bringing the number of registered parties in the country to 67.
The approval, according to a statement signed by Mrs May Agbmuche-Mbu, INEC National Commissioner and Member, Information and Voter Education Committee, was given at the commission’s weekly meeting on Thursday in Abuja.
The statement said that the associations were registered as political parties, because they had fulfilled the constitutional requirements for registration.
The new political parties are All Blending Party (ABP), All Grassroots Alliance (AGA), Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP), Coalition for Change (C4C) and Freedom and Justice Party (FJP).
Also registered are Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN), Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP), Legacy Party of Nigeria (LPN), Mass Action Joint Alliance (MAJA), Modern Democratic Party (MDP), National Interest Party (NIP), National Rescue Mission (NRM) and New Progressive Mission (NPM).
New Progressive Movement (NPM), Nigeria Democratic Congress Party (NDCP), People’s Alliance for National Development and Liberty (PANDEL), People’s Trust (PT) and Providence People’s Congress (PPC) were also registered.
Also on the list are Re-Build Nigeria Party (RBNP), Restoration Party of Nigeria (RP) and Sustainable National Party (SNP).

Author: News Editor

9055 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »