CrimeRecent News

ICPC Grills Top Federal Ministry Officials Over Capital Projects


The Independent and Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission is currently questioning some Chief Executive Officers of Federal Ministries, Department and Agencies (MDAs) over some projects that should have been executed in their different agencies. Seventeen Chief Executive Officers of MDAs were summoned to appear before a five man 2009 Capital Project Committee set up by the Commission to probe the award and execution of all Capital Projects approved in the 2009 budget.
Street Journal found out that the 17 summoned Chief Executives had been invited by the ICPC last year in connection with the ways and manners capital expenditure for 2009 budget was spent. Investigations carried out by Street Journal however revealed that they chose not to honour the invitation.
Street Journal also found out that the anti-graft agency has sent investigators to carry out physical examinations of projects claimed to have been completed by some MDAs as stated in their reports to the commission.
The summon letter sent to the Executives, dated 19th July, 2011 and signed by the Secretary to the Commission Mr. Elvis Oglafa, copies of which were made available to Street Journal reads in part “Our latter dated 22nd April, 2010 and reminder sent on 25th May, 2010 refers:
“In pursuant to Section 28 of the ICPC Act, 2000, you are required to appear before the 2009 Capital Project Committee of the Commission with the required documents on Wednesday 27th July, 2011 at the Commission’s Headquarters at 10.00am prompt”
Those questioned include the Director General of the Voice of Nigeria, the Director General of Nigeria Tourism Development Corporation, the Vice Chairman and Executive Officer of Nigeria Communication Commission, Director General Nigerian Export Promotion Council, Director General Nigerian Metrological Agency, Director General Nigerian Security Printing and Minting, Minister of Federal Ministry of Corporation and Integration in Africa and Chairman, Bwari Area Council, Abuja
The Permanent Secretaries of the Ministry of Youth Development, Ministry of Police Affairs, and Ministry of Interior are also involved. The others are the Administrator of National Judicial Council, Chairman Kwali Area Council and Director General National Board for Community Banks

Remains Of Helicopter Crash Victims Recovered In Osun State

Previous article

Nigeria’s Karen Wins Big Brother’s $ 200,000

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Crime