Senate Rejects Taraba’s Ministerial Nominee


The Senate continued with the screening of Ministerial nominees on Tuesday as six nominees were screened. They are Mrs. Sarah Reng Ochepke, Dr. Obadiah Ando, Mr. Edem Duke, Mr. Nyesome Wike, Ms. Ama Pepple and Hajia Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafia.
Ms. Ama Pepple, a former Permanent Secretary in the Federal Civil Service was allowed to take a bow without answering any question. It was the same for Dr. Obadiah Ando the former Minister of Water Resources.
Ando introduced himself on the floor and reeled out his achievements as Minister and his plans for the Ministry if confirmed. Surprisingly, he was not asked any question. Many Nigerians had expected that Ando’s screening would generate some fireworks especially with his rejection by the three Senators from his state.
The Taraba State House of Assembly had also rejected his nomination and communicated it to the Senate.
By the time the question was posed at the end of the exercise whether he should be confirmed, there was a resounding “nay” from the Senators. The other five nominees were however confirmed as Ministers.

Baraje Steps Up As Acting PDP Chairman

Previous article

NLC Declares Warning Strike!

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Politics