Other News

Again, PDP Cuts Obasanjo To Size!


. Removes Former President’s Loyalists From Key Posts

Unfolding events within the Peoples’ Democratic Party are pointing in one direction, the party is gradually cutting the influence of its former BOT Chairman and Nigeria’s former President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo. Most of his loyalists have been tactically removed from the positions they occupy in the party’s mainstream.

Not too long after the court removed Prince Olagunsole Oyinlola as the National Secretary of the party,  the national headquarters of the party on Friday sacked its South West executive committee, headed by a former Governor of Ekiti State, Engr Segun Oni, who is the National Vice Chairman of the zone.

The sack was made known via a statement signed by the National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Chief Olisa Metuh.

The sack also affected the National Auditor of the PDP, Chief Bode Mustapha, and the entire executive in Ogun State, headed by Senator Dipo Odujinrin.

Below is the full text of the statement that announced the sack of the former executives:

“Following protracted dispute on the Ogun State and South West Zonal Exco of the Party, a series of suits were filed on the matter, amongst which include FHC/L/CS/1248/2011, FHC/L/CS/282/2012 and FHC/L/CS/347/2012On 2nd May 2012 the Federal High Court, Lagos in FHC/L/CS/347/2012 entered judgment in the following terms:

“A. That Chief Bode Mustapha is removed from office as the National Auditor of the Peoples Democratic Party;

“B. That Alhaji Fatai Adewole Adeyanju is the validly elected National Auditor of the Peoples Democratic Party;

“C. That the Peoples Democratic Party is to rectify its records by deleting the name of Chief Bode Mustapha as National Auditor and replacing the same with Alhaji Fatai Adewole Adeyanju;

“D. That the South West Zonal Congress of the Peoples Democratic Party conducted in March 2012 is nullified;

“E. That the Executive Committee constituted for the PDP in Ogun State at Congresses conducted by the Bashorun Dayo Soremi led harmonized Executive Committee for the Wards, Local Governments and in the State in March 2012 are valid Exco of the Party at the various levels in Ogun State and are entitled to their 4-years tenure (the State Exco list is attached herewith);

“F. That the PDP is to organize a fresh South West Zonal Congress at which access is to be given to delegates elected at congresses conducted by or under the supervision of the Soremi-led Ogun State Executive and accept the candidacy, for offices zoned to Ogun State, of only the persons nominated at the said congresses for the said offices. “The National working Committee of the Party met on 14th February 2013 and gave careful consideration to the issues and decided that, in line with respect to the rule of law which is a cardinal principle of the present administration, the PDP as a law abiding Party, will immediately comply with the said judgment.


This is all the more so that same has not been set aside or reversed by any superior court.”


Meanwhile, the National Working Committee has also constituted a Caretaker Committee to pilot the affairs of the party in the South West pending the conduct of the state congresses.

The 17-member committee is headed by Barrister Ishola Filani.

Other members of the committee are:

Chief Pegba Otemolu – Secretary

Adedeji Doherty – Organizing Secretary

Rasak Adekonla Akanni – Auditor

Bolaji Jeje – Youth Leader

Orimolade Olanrewaju – Treasurer

Olawunmi Oshinmoluke Yuba – Woman Leader

Banji Obasanmi – Financial Secretary

Barrister Shola Oludipe – Legal Adviser

Lawal Waheed Olatunde – Publicity Secretary

Emmanuel Oladejo – Ex-Officio

Olalekan Abubakar – Ex-Officio

Seun Adesanya – Ex-Officio

Samiu Babatunde – Ex-Officio

Prince Tope Ademiluyi – Ex-Officio

Tunde Olowofoyeku – Ex-Officio

Prince Omoniyi – Ex-Officio.

The Unknown Side Of Goldie Harvey!

Previous article

First Lady Opens Up On Her Health, Says “I Died For A Week”

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Other News