Breaking NewsRecent News

Jonathan Sacks Service Chiefs, Appoints Replacements!


Meet the new service chiefs

President Goodluck Jonathan on Thursday sacked all the service chiefs and appointed replacements. According to Presidential spokesman, Reuben Abati who posted the development via Twitter, “President Jonathan has appointed a new Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs. Air Marshal Badeh now CDS”.

Air Marshal Alex Badeh, the former Chief of Air Staff replaces Admiral Ola Ibrahim as the Chief of Defence Staff.

Apart from the raging Boko Haram scourge threatening the nation’s security, critics have termed the appointment of the sacked service chiefs as being unconstitutional.

Back in October 2013, Street Journal had reported that a shake up was imminent and that Air Marshal Badeh, from Adamawa State was likely to become the new CDS as intense lobbying had been going on by brokers who believe an Air Force personnel should hold the position. The story titled Another Shake Up Imminent … can be read using the link

57-year-old Air Marshal Badeh was appointed as the Chief of Air Staff in 2012. The new service chiefs include Major General Kenneth Tobiah Jacob Minimah who takes over as the Chief of Army staff, succeeding General Azubuike Ihejirika. Rear Admiral Usman O. Jibrin is to take over as the Chief of Naval Staff while Air Vice Marshal Adesola Nuayon Amosu has been named as the new Chief of Air Staff.

The appointments came 48 hours after a deadly bomb blast in Maiduguri the Borno State capital, thus leading  to speculation that the Federal Government might be looking towards a change of strategy in the war against terrorism.

Below is the full text of the statement announcing the replacement of the service chiefs, signed by Dr Reuben Abati:



President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has in the exercise of the powers conferred on him by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria approved the following changes in the nation’s Military High Command:

Air Marshal Alex Badeh takes over from Admiral Ola Sa’ad Ibrahim as Chief of Defence Staff;

Major-General Kenneth Tobiah Jacob Minimah takes over from Lt.-General Azubike O. Ihejirika as Chief of Army Staff;

Rear Admiral Usman O. Jibrin takes over from Vice Admiral Dele Joseph Ezeoba as Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Vice Marshal Adesola Nunayon Amosu takes over from Air Marshal Badeh as Chief of Air Staff.

All the changes are with immediate effect.

The new Chief of Defence Staff and former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Badeh was born on January 10, 1957 and joined the Air Force as a member of the Nigerian Defence Academy’s  21 Regular Course while the new Chief of Army Staff, Major-General Minimah was born on July 27, 1959 and joined the Army as a member of the Nigerian Defence Academy’s  25 Regular Course. Until his new appointment, Major-General Minimah was the Commander of the Nigerian Army Infantry Corps, Jaji.

The new Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin was born on September 16, 1959 and joined the Navy as a member of the Nigerian Defence Academy’s 24 Regular Course. Until his appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, he was Director of Training at Defence Headquarters.

The new Chief of Air Staff and immediate past Commander of the Presidential Air Fleet, Air Vice Marshal Amosu was born on August 1, 1958 and joined the Air Force as a member of the Nigerian Defence Academy’s 25 Regular Course. Until his new appointment, Air Vice Marshal Amosu was the Air Officer Commanding, Tactical Air Command, Makurdi.

President Jonathan has briefed the leadership of the National Assembly on the appointment of the new service chiefs and will, in keeping with the provisions of the law, request the National Assembly to formally confirm the appointments when it reconvenes.

Reuben Abati

Special Adviser to the President

(Media & Publicity)

January 16, 2014


Ogun Police Train Personnel For Efficiency

Previous article

Police Bust Fake Documents Syndicate in Ogun!

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *