Breaking NewsOther NewsRecent News

Lagos APC Primaries: Dabiri, Bamigbetan Withdraw As Newcomers Defeat Incumbents


All Progressives Congress, APC, Lagos chapter, today held, what was described as “peaceful” Federal House of Representatives primaries across the 20 Local Government Areas and 37 Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs.
However, the exercise saw many incumbent lawmakers being defeated by new comers.
Some of their colleagues actually threw in the towels before the actual contest that took place Sunday.
The incumbent Hon Wale Babatunde and Samuel Adedayo, of Apapa-Iganmu Constituencywere defeated by former Chairman of Apapa Local Government, Hon Ayodeji Joseph.
Moruf Akinderu Fatai lost in Oshodi-Isolo Constituency I to a new comer. Dr Samuel Adejare, also an incumbent lost to Taofik Adaranijo in Agege Constituency.
While HoAbike Dabiri-Erewa and former Chairman of Ejigbo LCDA, Hon Kehinde Bamibetan also announced their withdrawal from the Ikorodu and Oshodi-Isolo
Constituencies race respectively, at the 11th hour.
Dabiri-Erewa, 52, is a third term member of the House of Representatives at the National Assembly. This confers on her, the status of the most prominent female politician in Lagos State, and one of the most prominent politicians in Nigeria today.
Her decision to vacate the seat for other people it was learned was to give other people the opportunity to serve as well.
Meanwhile, a source in the Lagos APC said that she may have bowed to certain undisclosed pressure and jettisoned her political ambition by pulling out from the race for re-election.
It was further learned that Dabiri-Erewa had been promised by the APC leadership of a juicy position in the incoming Ambode led administration in the state if voted in 2015 governorship election.
A firm believer in the importance of service to humanity, Dabiri-Erewa voluntarily retired from the services of the Nigeria Television Authority, NTA, to contest as a member of the House of Representatives and swept the poll with a landslide victory in 2003. Ever since then, she has distinguished herself by working tirelessly. Dabiri-Erewa undertook a lot of important bills, defended the interest of her party most vociferously and has a strong passion for service.
According to source, Bamigbetan, who was the former Chief Press Secretary to Governor Bola Ahmed Tinubu and immediate past Chairman of Ejigbo LCDA, was asked to step down for the incumbent, Hon Hakeem Muniru, alias 10 kilo.
When contacted on his next line of action, Bamigbetan said, “No comment for now.”
Hon Yakub Abiodun Balogun, former Head of Service under Governor Bola Tinubu, was re-elected to represent Lagos Island Federal constituency II.
Balogun was declared winner at the end of the contest by chairman electoral committee, Mr. Adeleye Adeyemi, who announced a total votes of 238 for Balogun, while his contender, Dr. Ogundimu scored 39 votes.
Ogundimu after the election said that “this is a pure democracy, because the people have chosen who they want to represent them and I have no problem with that, but instead, I will support the new candidate to win the general election”.
Balogun, who is an incumbent, gave his victory to almighty God and for his people who recognised his worth and achievements in the first tenure.
Balogun fondly called ‘Ajoo’ also pledged to do more of the party program by giving out dividend of democracy to his people in particular and mankind in general

Hon Ganiyu Olukoju, incumbent for the third term, won with 191 votes to represent Amuwao Odofin Federal constituency. He defeated Gbolahan Ogunleye, who is the son of former deputy governor of the state during Tinubu’s administration; He also defeated Sanusi Babatunde, former chairman Oriade LCDA.
At Lagos Island constituency I, about five aspirants, including the
son of Oba of Lagos, Oba Rilwan Akiolu, vied for the position but the election was ongoing at press time.


Mark, Suswam, Makarfi Win PDP Tickets For 2015 Senatorial Race

Previous article

Senate 2015: Ndoma-Egba Loses PDP Primaries

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *