Breaking NewsPoliticsRecent News

Mark, Suswam, Makarfi Win PDP Tickets For 2015 Senatorial Race


Senate President David Mark and the governor of Benue, Gabriel Suswam on have picked the tickets to represent the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the 2015 senatorial election in Benue State.

Mark picked the ticket to contest the 2015 poll in his bid to return to the Senate for a record fifth time after his opponent, Chief Mike Onoja, withdrew from the race.

Incumbent senator and former National Chairman of the PDP, Chief Barnabas Gemade, withdrew from the race to return to the National Assembly, allowing Suswam to pick the senatorial slot.

In Plateau State, the Governor, Jonah Jang, has won ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party for the National Assembly senatorial primaries from Plateau North Senatorial District.

Jang led in his senatorial primaries by scoring 273 votes to beat his co-contestant, Ambassador Ibrahim Kassei, who cored 18 votes.

In Kaduna, Senator Ahmed Makarfi the senator representing Kaduna-North Senatorial District was returned as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) flag-bearer in the 2015 senatorial election.

Ahmed Makarfi
Makarfi was adopted as sole candidate after his rival, Umar Faruk withdrew from the contest following consensus arrangement made a day prior to the party’s primary in Kaduna state.

Declaring the result, Alhaji Ahmed Tahir, Chairman, PDP electoral committee said: “Makarfi is the only contestant, however, based on PDP requirement, an election must hold to fulfill such requirement.

Also in Osun state, former Minister of Youth Affairs, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, has won the Peoples Democratic Party’s senatorial ticket to contest the election to Osun West Senatorial District seat at the Senate.

Akinlabi, who was a governorship aspirant of the party in the build up to the August 9th governorship election was affirmed as the candidate of the party in the senatorial, district.

A former Deputy Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service, Chief Francis Fadahunsi, also won the PDP ticket to contest election to represent the Osun East Senatorial District at the upper legislative chamber.

Fadahunsi beat former Director General of National Emergency Management Agency, Mrs. Remi Olowu with 265 to 116 votes to emerge as the party’s flag bearer.

In Osun Central Senatorial District, the chairman, Governing Board of National Root Crops Reserach Institute, Umudike, Chief Daisi Aina, picked the PDP ticket.

A former Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Defence, Mr. Wole Oke won the ticket for the Obokun/ Oriade Federal Constituency.


2015: Former Minister, Fadahunsi Win PDP Tickets For Senatorial Contest

Previous article

Lagos APC Primaries: Dabiri, Bamigbetan Withdraw As Newcomers Defeat Incumbents

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *