Breaking NewsOther NewsRecent News

Lagos Deputy Speaker, 7 Others Lose Seats


Deputy Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr. Taiwo Kolawole, has lost his chance to return to the House for a fifth term to represent Ajeromi-Ifelodun Constituency 1 as he was defeated by the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the constituency, Dayo Famakinwa.
Until his defeat, Kolawole was the oldest and one of the most knowledgeable members of the House, having been a member of the Assembly since 1999.
Apart from Kolawole, seven other candidates of the APC for the House lost their elections to candidates of the PDP in the election held on 11 April.
The defeated candidates comprise incumbents and fresh contenders.
The other affected lawmakers include Abdulbaq Ladi-Balogun, the representative of Ajeromi-Ifelodun Constituency 2; Sultan Adeniji-Adele representing Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1; Ramota Akinola-Hassan representing Amuwo Odofin 2; Ladi-Balogun was defeated by Oluwa Olatunji Fatai while Dipo Olorunrinu and Hakeem Bello defeated Adeniji-Adele and Akinola Hassan.
The PDP candidate for Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 1, Shokunle Hakeem, was declared winner while Ladi Ajomale, son of the APC chairman in Lagos State, Henry Ajomale lost in Oshodi/Isolo Constituency 2 to the PDP candidate, Emeka Idimogu, who was declared winner.
In Surulere Constituency 2, the candidate of the PDP, Mrs. Mosunmola Sangodara-Rotimi beat Abiodun Awobotu of the APC to clinch the seat.
In all, while the PDP has eight seats, the APC has 32 seats.
Some winners of the Assembly seats on the platform of the APC include Desmond Elliot (Surulere Constituency 1), Folajimi Mohammed (Ikeja Constituency 1) Adedamola Kasunmu (Ikeja Constituency 2), Wasiu Eshilokun-Sanni (Lagos Island Constituency 1), Giwa Shakirudeeen (Lagos Island Constituency 2), Adekanye Oladele (Lagos Mainland I), and Olayiwola Olawale (Mushin Constituency 2).
Some incumbent lawmakers who were re-elected include Moshood Olarenwaju Oshun (Lagos Mainland 2), Adefunmilayo Tejuosho (Mushin Constituency 1), Mudashiru Obasa (Agege Constituency 1), Yinka Ogundimu (Agege Constituency 2), Gbolahan Yishawu (Eti-Osa Constituency 2), Kazeem Alimi (Eti-Osa Constituency 1), Olusegun Olulade (Epe Constituency 2), Abiodun Tobun (Epe Constituency 1), Bisi Yusuf (Alimosho Constituency 1), Omotayo Oduntan (Alimosho Constituency 2), Dayo Saka Fafunmi (Ifako Ijaiye Constituency 1), Sanai Agunbiade (Ikorodu Constituency 1).

Police Declare Ex-Kano Commissioner Wanted For Alleged Electoral Offence

Previous article

Chibok Parents Reaffirm Faith In Buhari’s Ability To Rescue Abducted Girls

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply