Breaking NewsPoliticsRecent News

May 29: FG Constitutes Another Handing Over Committee


The Federal Government has constituted a 27-member Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee for the May 29 handing over of power from incumbent President, Dr Goodluck Jonathan, to the incoming President, General Muhammadu Buhari.

Sen. Anyim Pius Anyim, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, announced this to State House Correspondents at the meeting of the committee, held at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Anyim explained that the new committee is distinct from the two transition committees of the government and the incoming administration, which were earlier inaugurated.

He said the committee has himself as its Chairman with former Governor Bayelsa Governor, Mr Timipre Sylva, as Co-chairman, each chairman representing the government and the incoming administration respectively.

According to Anyim, the committee comprised 13 members each from the present and the incoming administration and a Secretary.

He said that incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan and incoming President Muhammadu Buhari have met and agreed on a hitch-free handing over of power.

Anyim said: “It is in furtherance of that understanding that both agreed on two committees: transition committee and the inauguration committee.

“There are two parallel transition committees – one set up by the present administration, the other set up by the incoming administration.

“The two transition committees are to work independent of each other and shall interface with each other at a point.’’

The SGF said the committee will draw up the programme of activities for the inauguration ceremony and arrange invitation and accommodation of local and foreign dignitaries.

It will also organise the approved programme of activities; draw up a budget for the activities and co-opt into sub committees such persons that could assist the committees.

He further said the committee had lined up a one-week programme of activities, such as press briefing, juma’at prayers, inter-denominational church services, inauguration dinner, swearing-in ceremony, post-inauguration lunch and a gala night.

Membership of the committee from the outgoing government is as follows: Anyim Pius Anyim (chairman), FCT Minister Bala Mohammed, Ministers of Water Resources Mrs Sarah Ochekpe, Interior, Abba Moro, and Culture and National Orientation Chief Edem Duke.

Others are Lands, Housing and Urban Development; Mrs Akon Eyakenyi, Aviation; Osita Chidoka, Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali, Minister of State for Defence; retired Col. Austin Akobundu and Chief of Defence Staff, Chief Marshall Alex Badeh.

The rest are Mr Solomon Arase (Acting I-G of Police); Dr Bello Fadile (Office of the National Security Adviser); Brig.-Gen A.B Omozoje (Commander, Brigade of Guards) while Mrs Ibukun Odusote, the Permanent Secretary in the Political Affairs Office (PAO) of the SGF is to serve as the Secretary.

Membership of the committee from the incoming administration is as follows: Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Mr Samson Osagie, Ms Sharon Ikeazor, Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, and Sen. John Shagaya.

Others are: Amb. Babagana Kingibe, Alhaji Ismaila Isa Funtua, Mrs Hadiza Bala Usman, Mr Babachir Lawal and Binta Masi Garba.

We Will Get A Strong Candidate In 2019, Not Jonathan – Babatope

Previous article

Boko Haram Regroups En Masse In Sambisa As Landmines Hinder Military Operation

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply