Breaking NewsOther NewsRecent News

Oyo To Review Olubadan Selection Process


Other members of the commission are a retired Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Local Government, Onaolapo Ajibola; the state’s Solicitor-General and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Justice, Mr. Wasiu Gbadegesin; Joseph Oladele; Paul Ayoola; Ogunniyi Ogunjinmi; and Abiodun Adegbaye.

The Director of Chieftaincy Matters in the Ministry of Justice, Olanrewaju Jaiyeola, will serve as the secretary.

The commission was saddled with the responsibility of reviewing the existing requirements and qualification for ascendancy to the throne of Olubadan, as well as to review the selection process of Olubadan from Otun and Balogun lines.

It also has the mandate to look into the possibilities of having more Obas in Ibadanland, taken into consideration the present size and population of the city.

The panel is also expected to review the existing 1957 Declaration of Olubadan of Ibadanland, in line with the proposed change in chieftaincy institution in Ibadanland.

While addressing members of the commission, Ajimobi said that the review was long overdue, considering the fact that the existing declaration made in 1957 was no longer in tune with the current reality and modern trend in Yorubaland.

“I want to emphasise that this judicial commission of inquiry is not being set up to punish anybody or raise prejudice against anyone, but to ensure effective traditional institution in Ibadanland. “This is to pave the way for socio-economic development for Ibadanland and Oyo State in general, which is one of the cardinal objectives of the present administration,” he said.

Freed Chibok School Girls: Parents Re-unite With Wards in Abuja

Previous article

Troops Clear Terrorists, Rescue 998 Persons In Ndufu

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply