Breaking NewsPoliticsRecent News

4 Policemen Sentenced to Death for Killing ‘Okada’ Rider in Akwa Ibom


Four policemen have been sentenced to death for killing a commercial motorcycle operator, popularly known as okada rider, on Goodluck Jonathan Boulevard, Akwa Ibom State, sometime in 2016.
The four convicted policemen are Inspectors Moses Akpaete, Idoko Sampson, Corporals Enobong Udo and Godwin Nnanna.
They had since been dismissed from the force as they last served at the ‘C’ Division of the Akwa Ibom Police Command.
The trial Judge, Justice Ifiok Ukana, found the officers guilty of conspiracy in the murder of one Felix Akpan of Ibiakpan in Ibiono Ibom Local Government Area of the state.
It was learnt that the officers, while on patrol, shot at the late motorcyclist for allegedly refusing to stop for “settlement.”
The motorcyclist was accused of operating along areas marked “prohibited” in Uyo.
The killing of the motorcyclist had sparked off protest, forcing Police authorities to arrest and prosecute the killer-policemen over wrongful use of firearm against unarmed civilian.
The convicts, who admitted to the crime, said one of them fired the shots that killed Akpan, claiming the shots were fired in self defence when youths attacked them while trying to arrest the late motorcyclist.
The Judge said the convicts deserved the verdicts “because there was no evidence that the officers acted in self defence as they were being attacked by the mob.”
He noted that “the decision of the officers to flee the scene after the incident meant they conspired to commit the crime.
“The law is very clear on the penalty which awaits any person who commits or conspires to commit such heinous crime, whether as principal or accessory after the crime.”
The state’s Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Uwemedimo Nwoko, hailed the judgment as “victory for the Rule of Law.”

Condemned Kidnappers Threatened to Kill Judge, Prosecutors

Previous article

Gale of Defections: Sokoto Gov.,Tambuwal, APC Spokesman, Abdullahi, 23 Kwara House Members Defect to PDP from APC

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply