Daily News

Edo Assembly invasion: Court remands seven suspects in police custody


By Bisi Olaniyi, Southsouth Bureau Chief

Edo State High Court has remanded in police custody, the seven suspects arrested over the August 6 invasion of Edo House of Assembly, pending the determination of the case on September 3.

The seven suspects who appeared the Court presided over by Justice Efe Ikponmwonba are being prosecuted for illegal possession of firearms and disturbance of public peace.

The suspects are Festus Agbonrenren (25), Odion Osayande (23), Ogbeiwe Wilfred (52), Morgan Uwaigboe (47), Osayomore Salami (25), Ifeoluwa Oladele (36) and Iginobaro Collins (26).

They were arrested within the premises of Edo House of Assembly complex with five double-barrel long guns, two single barrel long guns and 10 live cartridges.

Read Also: Edo Assembly crisis: Court grants pro-Obaseki lawmakers leave to serve APC legislators

Police sources indicated that the seven suspects confessed to being mobilised to Edo House of Assembly by Governor Godwin Obaseki’s aides: Kabiru Adjoto and Osaigbovo Iyoha, in order to deny entry to the Assembly complex to 17 All Progressives Congress’ (APC’s) elected lawmakers, who are opposed to Obaseki of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

The seven suspects allegedly provided cover for other thugs who removed the roof of the Edo House of Assembly complex, vandalised its chambers and tipped heaps of sand and granite at its entrance, in violent chaos that was supervised by Obaseki and his deputy/running mate, Philip Shaibu.

Serbia Turns Brandy Into Hospital Disinfectant

Previous article

Bayelsa West: PDP gives automatic ticket to ex-Governor Dickson

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Daily News