Daily News

Alexander-Arnold named PFA Young Player of the Year


Our Reporter

Liverpool right-back Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named the PFA Young Player of the Year.

Alexander-Arnold beat out a host of strong contenders for the award, including Manchester United pair Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood; Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham and Mason Mount; and Arsenal teenager Bukayo Saka.

Nominees for the award had to be 21 or younger on July 1, 2019.

Alexander-Arnold was a vital part of Liverpool’s runaway Premier League title in 2019-20, making 38 appearances in the league and tallying four goals and 13 assists.

The 21-year-old defender was also part of 12 clean sheets as Jurgen Klopp’s team ended their 30-year wait for the top-flight title.

READ ALSO: Alexander-Arnold named Premier League Young Player of the Season

Alexander-Arnold broke the all-time Premier League record for assists in a season by a defender, a mark that he had set the previous season with 12.

Tuesday’s award was in addition to the Premier League’s Young Player of the Season, which Alexander-Arnold won last month to complete a clean sweep of prizes for y.

Alexander-Arnold’s 13 assists in 2019-20 were second in the league to Kevin De Bruyne’s 20, with Manchester City’s Belgian star taking home the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award on Tuesday.

Alexander-Arnold made his Liverpool breakthrough in 2016-17 and has made 93 Premier League appearances for the Merseyside outfit. As well as the Premier League crown, he has won the Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, and Club World Cup with Klopp’s men. (Goal)

God will use El-Rufai to end Southern-Kaduna crisis – Luther Agwai

Previous article

‘Increased participation in oil and gas industry will create more jobs’

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Daily News