Daily News

Edo election: Obaseki wins Ize-Iyamu’s LG


Governor Godwin Obaseki has won the Orhionwmwon local government, where his main opponent Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) hails from.

Ize-Iyamu voted at his PU 26, Ward 5, Iguododo, Orhionmwon Local Government Area, on Saturday morning and won his polling unit.

Obaseki of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and the PDP who polled 13,445 votes, according to the result announced by INEC Sunday afternoon.

However, Ize-Iyamu and the APC polled 10,458 votes in the whole local government to lose to Mr

The two men alongside 12 other candidates are taking part in the governorship election held across the 18 local governments in the state.

Orhionwmwon was the 17th local government result announced by INEC at the state collation centre in Benin.

Only one local government result was being expected at the time of this report with Mr Obaseki in clear lead.

No comments yet

Fire guts electronics mall in Abeokuta

Previous article

Emir of Zazzau, Shehu Idris, dies at 84

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Daily News